facebook.pngFollow us ontwitter.png

Mayflower Brewery | Print |

Mayflower Brewery, Unit 3, 15-17 Sandbrook Road, Orrell, Wigan, WN5 8UD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With over 25 years experience in the trade and having worked at a number of breweries (including Higsons, Boddingtons, Hydes and Jennings), Stewart Thompson realised his dream by starting his own brewery in 2001. Having acquired a 2 barrel plant, he established the Mayflower Brewery in the canteen of the disused Bleachworks in Standish. In so doing, it became the first Standish-based brewery since the closure of Almonds Brewery about 30 years previously.

The brewery was named after the ship that carried the Pligrim Fathers to the New World in 1620. The military captain of the Mayflower was a certain Myles Standish. Although there has always been dispute over the actual origins of Captain Myles Standish, he had strong links with Standish village and died in nearby Duxbury in 1659.

Brewing ceased in May 2003, due to the demolition of the Bleachworks building for a much-needed (?) housing estate. The brewery subsequently relocated to the Royal Oak in Wigan town centre. Although the premises are much smaller, the original vessels and casks are still used. Brewing recommenced in May 2004.

The brewery changed hands in June 2007. Brewing was suspended for about a year during 2009 and early 2010 and restarted at Wellcross Farm, 123 Tower Hill Road, Upholland in June 2010. It moved once more in autumn 2011 to their current location. Brewing was suspended at the end of 2012 while a new location was sought.

 

Copyright 2013 Wigan CAMRA Branch
The views expressed upon this website are those of individual contributors and not necessarily those of CAMRA or the local Branch.

RocketTheme Joomla Templates